
Michigan Supreme Court 
State Court Administrative Office 

Field Services Division 
Michigan Hall of Justice 

P.O. Box 30048 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 

Phone (517) 373-4835 

     Ryan P. Gamby 
Field Services Director 

MEMORANDUM 

DATE:  

TO: 

FROM: 

RE: 

December 3, 2021 

Court Reporters and Recorders 

Rebecca A. Schnelz, Farms and Resources Analyst 

Updates to the Manual for Court Reporters and Recorders 

The Manual for Court Reporters and Recorders has been updated.  Please see the highlighted 
pages below for details of the changes, including corrections made in November 2019. 

Questions regarding this manual should be directed to CourtFormsInfo@courts.mi.gov. 
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Section 3: Certification Page 5 

continued certification.  At the end of the conditional period, an unconditional 
certification may be issued.  

F. Designations (MCR 8.108[G][7])

The board shall assign an identification number to each person certified.  A court reporter,
a recorder, or an operator must place the assigned identification number on his or her
communications with the courts, including certificates, motions, affidavits, and transcripts.
The board will use the following certification designations:

1. certified electronic recorder (CER),

2. certified electronic operator (CEO),

3. certified shorthand reporter (CSR), and

4. certified voice writer/stenomask reporter (CSMR).

The designations are to be used only by reporters, recorders, or operators certified by the 
board. A reporter, a recorder, or an operator may be given more than one designation by 
passing different tests.  A reporter, a recorder, or an operator may only perform the 
functions for which he or she has been certified.  For example, a certified electronic 
recorder may only take the record by electronic recorder or a certified shorthand reporter 
may only take the record by shorthand.  A reporter, a recorder, or an operator found to 
have performed a function or taken proceedings in a manner other than that for 
which he or she has been granted may be placed on probation, may be fined up to 
$500, and/or may have his or her certification revoked.  

G. Annual Schedule for Certification Examination and Renewal

1. Deadline for Reviewing Examination Results

Review of examination results must be completed before the registration deadline of 
the next examination.  For the dates of the next scheduled examination, see 
http://courts.mi.gov/CRR.

2. Deadline for Registering for Certification Examination

The deadline for registering for an examination is four weeks prior to the scheduled 
examination.  Examination registration is done online through the One Court of 
Justice Website, see https://www.courts.michigan.gov/CRR

3. Certification Examination Dates

Examinations are normally conducted in March and November; however, additional 
examinations have been held during the summer months.  For the next scheduled 
examination dates, see http://courts.mi.gov/CRR. 

http://courts.mi.gov/CRR
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 4. Deadline for Certification Renewal 
 

The deadline for certification renewal is August 1.  An application received after 
August 31 is reviewed by the board to determine if the applicant must take the 
examination.  A renewal application received after August 1 must be accompanied by 
an additional late fee of $100. 
 

5. Challenging the Examination Results 
 
If a challenge of the examination results is filed by an applicant as a result of a 
review, a written request must be filed with the board within seven days after the 
completion of the examination review. 
 
Previously passed examination sections will continue to be preserved while a 
challenge is under review by the board.  The applicant will receive a written response 
to the challenge within 10 days of the board’s decision.  If the challenge does not 
result in full certification, the applicant must register for the next scheduled 
examination in order to remain in compliance with the preservation of passed 
examination sections. 

 
 
Chapter 3:  Board of Review Policies 
 
A. Uncertified Reporter or Recorder Attempting to File Transcripts 

(Adopted 6/24/80, Revised 7/83, Revised 6/06)  (MCR 8.108[G][1] and [3]) 
 

Any uncertified person who files, attempts to file, or has anyone file a transcript on his or 
her behalf will automatically be precluded from taking the certification examination or 
from being granted temporary certification for a period of two years from the date of the 
filing or attempted filing unless the Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review 
determines that there is good cause for waiving any part or all of the two-year waiting 
period.  This policy does not apply to previously certified reporters or recorders required to 
file a transcript of a proceeding reported or recorded while their certification was in effect. 

 
B. Requirements for Registering for the Certification Examination 

(Adopted 7/09/80, Revised 3/25/94, Revised 6/13/97, Revised 10/10/05, Revised 10/21/10, 
Revised 12/12) (MCR 8.108[G][3]) 

 
1. All persons registering for the court reporting or recording exam must: 

a. be at least 18 years of age, 
 

b. be a high school graduate, and  
 

c. not have been under sentence for a felony for a period of two years. 
 

2. In addition, CSR applicants must have satisfactorily completed the National Court 
Reporters Association (NCRA) Registered Professional Reporter skills exam and 
submitted documentation of same prior to testing. Applicants possessing preserved 
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Section 3: Certification  Page 15 

administration supervisor or monitor witnessed something unusual or because another 
candidate registered a complaint. 

 
K. Certified Electronic Operator (CEO) Renewal Application 

(Adopted 06/28/88, Revised 1/05/94, Revised 6/10/94, Revised 6/06, Revised 12/14/12) 
 

Upon application for renewal, in a designated area on the renewal form, the chief judge 
shall aver, by affixing his or her signature, that the renewing applicant has used the CEO 
skills for a minimum of 10 hours (during the previous year) and the individual has the 
requisite skills to continue certification.  In another designated area of the renewal form, the 
applicant shall aver that the requisite skills have been maintained and that he or she 
continues to comply with the applicable sections of the Manual for Court Reporters and 
Recorders. 
 

L. Certified Electronic Operator (CEO) Designation 
(Adopted 01/25/89) 

 
The CEO designation is restricted to persons employed by the court. 

 
M. Transcript Fees 

(Adopted 9/90, Revised 9/15) 
 

Any reporter/recorder acting as an official reporter or recorder may only charge the 
statutory page rate for transcripts produced as a result of ordinary court work.  (See Section 
6, Chapter 1, page 3.) 

 
N. Skills Examination Grading Scale 

(Adopted 3/94, Revised 6/06, Revised 3/12, Revised 9/12, Revised 12/12, Revised 6/16, 
Revised 6/19) 
Effective January 2017, a passing score for the CER skills examination is 95 percent or 
better with the following breakdown: no title page, deduct 15 points; no table of contents, 
deduct 3 points; no certificate page, deduct 8 points; incomplete log, automatic fail; deduct 
1 point for each critical punctuation error, misspelled word, each wrong word, or each 
missing word.  Additionally, points will be deducted for deviation from the prescribed 
format as found in the Manual for Court Reporters and Recorders. 
 
Effective as of the October 2012 examination, upon request of the chief judge, and receipt 
of an application, individuals who fail the transcription portion of the CER examination 
but:  1) pass the CER written examination;  2) score 80 percent or more on the logging 
portion of the examination; and 3) are current court employees will be granted full CEO 
certification.  

 
O. Penalties for Taking Depositions When Noncertified 

(Adopted 6/13/97, Revised 6/06) 
 

Possible penalties for a noncertified reporter taking depositions after January 1, 1998 
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Section 3: Certification  Page 16 

include: 
 

1. publishing the reporter and firm name in Michigan Lawyers Weekly and possibly in 
the Michigan Bar Journal, as being in violation of MCR 8.108, 

 
2. placing the certification of the firm owner in jeopardy for using uncertified reporters 

in contravention of MCR 8.108, 
 
3. recommending to the bench that depositions prepared by uncertified reporters not be 

accepted for filing in court proceedings, 
 

4. the reporter and/or firm owner repay the cost of the deposition taken by an uncertified 
reporter to the ordering party, or 

 
5. any other disciplinary action appropriate to the circumstances. 

 
P. Adoption of Manual for Court Reporters and Recorders as Official Directive 

(Adopted June 12, 1998, Revised 6/06) 
 

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review by 
MCR 8.108, and in furtherance of its responsibility to provide criteria for the certification 
of court reporters practicing in the state of Michigan, the board hereby reaffirms adoption 
of the Manual for Court Reporters and Recorders as the official directives of the board for 
providing criteria for court reporters to be used in conjunction with any regulations 
imposed by statute or court rule. 

 
Q. Public Attendance at Board Meetings 

(Adopted June 12, 1998, Revised 6/06) 
 

The Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review observes Administrative Order 1997-
11, effective February 2, 1998, wherein it appears that the Court Reporting and Recording 
Board of Review is a working group created by the Michigan Supreme Court to advise the 
State Court Administrative Office and the Court on matters significantly affecting the 
delivery of justice.  As such, the board may be required to provide an opportunity for public 
attendance at one or more meetings. 

 
Pursuant to Administrative Order 1997-11, the board designates the September quarterly 
meeting of the board as a public meeting to provide an opportunity for public attendance.   

 
R. Continuing Education 

(Adopted June 12, 1998, Revised 6/06) 
 

The Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review acknowledges the Michigan 
Association of Professional Court Reporters’ request to mandate continuing education 
credits as a requirement for certification renewal. 
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Section 3: Certification  Page 17 

The board supports and encourages professional excellence within the profession of court 
reporting.  However, the board is not in a position to support, authorize, or regulate a 
mandatory requirement of continuing education credits as a part of certification renewal, 
but leaves the task of organizing continuing education to the appropriate professional 
associations. 
 

S. Identification of Firm Registration Number on Transcripts and Other Documents 
(Adopted March 12, 2010) 

 
A court reporter working for a firm must include the State Court Administrative Office firm 
registration number on transcripts and other documents filed with the court.  Additionally, 
the firm shall include its firm registration number on all official correspondence.   
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H. Appearances 
 

This example reflects the proper method to indicate that counsel for a party is not  in attendance 
at a proceeding.  Only the names of those attending the proceeding  are listed in the 
"Appearances" section of the title page.  

 
 
 

STATE OF MICHIGAN 
 

THIRD CIRCUIT COURT (WAYNE COUNTY) 
 
 
 
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF MICHIGAN, 
 
V        File No. 14-12345-CF 
 
SAMUEL K. WILLIS, 
 
   Defendant. 
______________________________/ 
 

SENTENCING HEARING 
 

BEFORE THE HONORABLE ROBERT J. COLOMBO, JR., CIRCUIT JUDGE 
 

Detroit, Michigan – Friday, March 28, 2014 
 

APPEARANCES: 
 
For the People:    NONE  
  
 
For the Defendant:   MS. CYNTHIA STELLER (P12345) 
      Steller and Steller, PLLC 
      123 South Street 
      Detroit, Michigan 48226 
      (313)987-6543  
     
 
Recorded and Transcribed by:  Ms. Sally Smith, CER 7295 
      Certified Electronic Recorder 
      (313)123-4567 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

(page #) 
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(c) Copies.  Additional copies of the transcripts required by the appellant may 

be ordered from the court reporter or recorder or photocopies may be made 
of the transcript furnished by the court reporter or recorder. 

 
(d) Form of Transcript.  The transcript must be filed in one or more volumes 

under a hard-surfaced or other suitable cover, stating the title of the action, 
and prefaced by a table of contents showing the subject matter of the 
transcript with page references to the significant parts of the trial or 
proceedings, including the testimony of each witness by name, the 
arguments of the attorneys, and the jury instructions.  The pages of the 
transcript must be consecutively numbered on the bottom of each page.  
Transcripts filed with the court must contain only a single transcript page 
per document page, not multiple pages combined on a single document 
page. 

 
(e) Notice.  Immediately after the transcript is filed, the court reporter or 

recorder shall notify the Court of Appeals and all parties that it has been 
filed and file in the Court of Appeals an affidavit of mailing of notice to 
the parties. 

 
(f) Discipline. A court reporter or recorder failing to comply with the 

requirements of these rules is subject to disciplinary action by the courts, 
including punishment for contempt of court, on the court's own initiative 
or motion of a party. 

 
(g) Responsibility When More Than One Reporter or Recorder.  In a case in 

which portions of the transcript must be prepared by more than one 
reporter or recorder, unless the court has designated another person, the 
person who recorded the beginning of the proceeding is responsible for 
ascertaining that the entire transcript has been prepared, filing it, and 
giving the notice required by subrule (B)(3)(e). 

 
(C) Exhibits.  Within 21 days after the claim of appeal is filed, a party possessing any 

exhibits offered in evidence, whether admitted or not, shall file them with the trial 
court or tribunal clerk, unless by stipulation of the parties or order of the trial court or 
tribunal they are not to be sent, or copies, summaries, or excerpts are to be sent.  
Xerographic copies of exhibits may be filed in lieu of originals unless the trial court 
or tribunal orders otherwise.  When the record is returned to the trial court or tribunal, 
the trial court or tribunal clerk shall return the exhibits to the parties who filed them. 

 
(D) Reproduction of Records.  Where facilities for the copying or reproduction of 

records are available to the clerk of the court or tribunal whose action is to be 
reviewed, the clerk, on a party's request and on deposit of the estimated cost or 
security for the cost, shall procure for the party as promptly as possible and at the cost 
to the clerk the requested number of copies of documents, transcripts, and exhibits on 
file. 
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