Order

Michigan Supreme Court
Lansing, Michigan

May 22, 2024

ADM File No. 2022-42

Amendments of Rules 2.508 and 4.002 of the Michigan Court Rules

Elizabeth T. Clement, Chief Justice

Brian K. Zahra David F. Viviano Richard H. Bernstein Megan K. Cavanagh Elizabeth M. Welch Kyra H. Bolden, Justices

On order of the Court, notice of the proposed changes and an opportunity for comment in writing and at a public hearing having been provided, and consideration having been given to the comments received, the following amendments of Rules 2.508 and 4.002 of the Michigan Court Rules are adopted, effective September 1, 2024.

[Additions to the text are indicated in underlining and deleted text is shown by strikeover.]

Rule 2.508 Jury Trial of Right

- (A) [Unchanged.]
- (B) Demand for Jury.
 - (1)-(2) [Unchanged.]
 - (3)(a) [Unchanged.]
 - (b) If part of a case is removed from circuit court to district court, or part of a case is removed or transferred from district court to circuit court, but a portion of the case remains in the court from which the case is removed or transferred, then a demand for a trial by jury in the court from which the case is removed or transferred is not effective in the court to which the case is removed or transferred. A party who seeks a trial by jury in the court to which the case is partially removed or transferred must file a written demand for a trial by jury and pay the applicable jury feewithin 21 days of the removal or transfer order, and must pay the jury fee provided by law, even if the jury fee was paid in the court from which the case is removed or transferred, within 28 days after the filing fee is paid in the receiving court, but no later than 56 days after the date of the removal or transfer order.
 - (c) The absence of a timely demand for a trial by jury in the court from

which a case is entirely or partially removed or transferred does not preclude filing a demand for a trial by jury in the court to which the case is removed or transferred. A party who seeks a trial by jury in the court to which the case is removed or transferred must file a written demand for a trial by jury and pay the applicable jury fee within 28 days after the filing fee is paid in that court, but no later than 56 days after the date of the removal or transfer order within 21 days of the removal or transfer order, and must pay the jury fee provided by law.

(d) [Unchanged.]

(C)-(D) [Unchanged.]

Rule 4.002 Transfer of Actions From District Court to Circuit Court

(A)-(C) [Unchanged.]

- (D) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees After Transfer; Payment of Costs.
 - (1) [Unchanged.]
 - (2) If the jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the district court must forward it to the clerk of the circuit court to which the action is transferred as soon as possible after the case records have been transferred. If the amount paid to the district court for the jury fee is less than the circuit court jury fee, then the party requesting the jury shall pay the difference to the circuit court within 28 days after the filing fee is paid under subrule (D)(1).
 - (3) [Unchanged.]

Staff Comment (ADM File No. 2022-42): The amendments of MCR 2.508(B)(3)(b)-(c) and 4.002(D)(2) make the rules consistent with MCR 2.227 regarding the timing of payment of the jury fee in cases that are removed or transferred.

The staff comment is not an authoritative construction by the Court. In addition, adoption of a new rule or amendment in no way reflects a substantive determination by this Court.



I, Larry S. Royster, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme Court, certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of the order entered at the direction of the Court.

May 22, 2024

