Overview of the William Van Regenmorter Crime Victim's Rights Act (CVRA) Articles¹

The following table illustrates the major differences among the William Van Regenmorter Crime Victim's Rights Act (CVRA) articles.

CVRA	Offense	Offender	Court
CVRA, Article 1 (Felony Article) MCL 780.751– MCL 780.775	Any felony	Adult defendants charged with or convicted of felonies or juveniles at least 14 but less than 18 years old charged with a specified juvenile violation, where the prosecutor has filed a criminal complaint in District Court rather than a delinquency petition in the Family Division of Circuit Court (i.e., automatic waiver proceedings).	Criminal Division of Circuit Court (after arraignment and preliminary examination in District Court).
CVRA, Article 2 (Juvenile Article) MCL 780.781– MCL 780.802	Any felony and certain misdemeanors	Juveniles less than 18 years old alleged or found to be within the court's jurisdiction under the Juvenile Code, MCL 712A.2(a)(1), including individuals involved in designated proceedings.	Family Division of Circuit Court.
CVRA, Article 3 (Serious Misdemeanor Article) MCL 780.811- MCL 780.834	Serious misdemeanors	Adult offenders charged with or convicted of serious misdemeanors.	District Court.

Michigan Judicial Institute Page 1

¹ See the Michigan Judicial Institute's *Crime Victim Rights Benchbook* for more information on the crime victim's rights in Michigan.

Last Updated 10/25/21 Overview of CVRA Articles