## Court-Ordered Suspension of Motorboat-Operating Privileges<sup>1</sup>

The following table sets out the provisions authorizing or requiring court-ordered suspension or revocation of an individual's motorboat-operating privileges.<sup>2</sup>

Offense Description	Suspension/Revocation Period	Statutory Reference
Operating while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, with any amount of certain controlled substances, or while visibly impaired causing death or serious impairment of a body function	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.80186(a)
Operating while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances —no prior convictions within seven years	May be suspended not less than 1 year or more than 2 years.	MCL 324.80186(b)( <i>i</i> )
Operating while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances—one or more prior convictions within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 2 years.	MCL 324.80186(b)( <i>ii</i> )
Operating while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances—two or more prior convictions within 10 years	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.80186(b)(iii)
Operating while visibly impaired—no prior convictions within seven years	May be suspended not less than 6 months or more than 1 year.	MCL 324.80186(c)( <i>i</i> )

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See the Michigan Judicial Institute's *Recreational Vehicles Benchbook*, Chapter 3, for more information on offenses and civil infractions involving marine vessels and motorboats.

Offense Description	Suspension/Revocation Period	Statutory Reference
Operating while visibly impaired—one prior conviction within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 1 year or more than 2 years.	MCL 324.80186(c)( <i>ii</i> )
Operating while visibly impaired —two or more prior convictions within 10 years	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.80186(c)( <i>iii</i> )
Third- or fourth-degree fleeing or eluding with vessel (or attempt)	Shall be suspended not more than 5 years.	MCL 750.479a(6)(b)
First- or second-degree fleeing or eluding with vessel (or attempt)	Shall be revoked not less than 5 years.	MCL 750.479a(7)(b)

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>See Summary of Michigan's Conservation-Related Laws.