Court-Ordered Suspension of Snowmobile-Operating Privileges¹

The following table sets out the provisions *requiring* court-ordered suspension of an individual's snowmobile-operating privileges.²

Offense Description	Suspension Period	Statutory Reference
Operation of snowmobile while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, with any amount of certain controlled substances, or while visibly impaired — causing death or serious impairment of a body function	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.82142(a)
Operation of snowmobile while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances —no prior convictions within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 6 months or more than 2 years.	MCL 324.82142(b)(<i>i</i>)
Operation of snowmobile while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances —one or more prior convictions within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 1 year or more than 2 years.	MCL 324.82142(b)(ii)
Operation of snowmobile while under the influence, with unlawful blood alcohol content, or with any amount of certain controlled substances —two or more prior convictions within 10 years	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.82142(b)(ii)
Operation of snowmobile while visibly impaired—no prior convictions within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 90 days or more than 1 year.	MCL 324.82142(c)(i)

¹ See the Michigan Judicial Institute's *Recreational Vehicles Benchbook*, Chapter 3, for more information on offenses and civil infractions involving snowmobiles.

Offense Description	Suspension Period	Statutory Reference
Operation of snowmobile while visibly impaired—one prior conviction within seven years	Shall be suspended not less than 6 months or more than 2 years.	MCL 324.82142(c)(ii)
Operation of snowmobile while visibly impaired—two or more prior convictions within 10 years	Shall be suspended without an expiration date.	MCL 324.82142(c)(iii)

²See Summary of Michigan's Conservation-Related Laws.