Notification Requirements Under the William Van Regenmorter Crime Victim's Rights Act (CVRA), Article I¹

Throughout the legal process, certain persons are required to provide certain agencies and crime victims with notification of an offender's status. The following table summarizes notification requirements specifically required under the CVRA, Article I.

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of available emergency/ medical services, victim compensation, contact information for prosecuting attorney, and option to be informed of arrest or release and for status of case.	Law enforcement agency having responsibility for investigating the crime.	Timing. Within 24 hours after initial contact with the victim. Method. In writing.	William Van Regenmorter Crime Victim's Rights Act (CVRA), MCL 780.753 (felony cases).
Notification of available pretrial release for defendant, contact information for sheriff or juvenile facility, and notification that victim may contact the sheriff or facility to ascertain defendant's status.	Law enforcement agency having responsibility for investigating the crime.	Timing. Within 24 hours of defendant's arraignment. Method. None specified.	CVRA, MCL 780.755(1).
Notification of defendant's arrest and/ or pretrial release (at victim's request).	Law enforcement agency having responsibility for investigating the crime.	Timing. Promptly. Method. None specified.	CVRA, MCL 780.755(1).

Michigan Judicial Institute Page 1

¹ Except as otherwise provided in MCL 780.861, an entity that provides notice by mail under Article I of the CVRA or under Const 1963, art 1 § 24, must mail the notice to the address provided by the victim. MCL 780.752a(2). If the victim is a program participant under the Address Confidentiality Program Act, MCL 780.851 *et seq.*, he or she "may provide the address designated by the department of the attorney general." MCL 780.752a(2); see also MCL 780.853(n). See the Michigan Judicial Institute's *Crime Victim Rights Benchbook*, Chapter 5, for more information on notification requirements under the CVRA.

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of court procedures, crime victim's rights, and contact information.	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 7 days after arraignment and no less than 24 hours before the preliminary examination. Method. In writing, in plain English.	CVRA, MCL 780.756.
Notification of scheduled court proceedings and changes to schedule (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. None specified. Method. None specified.	CVRA, MCL 780.756.
Notification of resolution by assignment to trainee status, delayed sentence, or deferred judgment of guilt.	Court, Department of Corrections (DOC), Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), county sheriff, or prosecuting attorney—whichever person had duty to provide notice otherwise.	Timing. None specified. Method. None specified.	CVRA, MCL 780.752a.
Notification of conviction and of victim's rights related to sentencing and impact statements (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Promptly. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to give prompt actual notice."	CVRA, MCL 780.763.
Final disposition of criminal case (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 30 days of the final disposition. Method. In writing.	CVRA, MCL 780.772.
Notification of appeal, time/place of oral arguments, and any changes to that schedule (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 24 hours of receiving notification (or as soon as possible). Method. In writing, in plain English.	CVRA, MCL 780.768a.
Notification of appeal process, including possible dispositions (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 24 hours of receiving notification (or as soon as possible). Method. In writing, in plain English.	CVRA, MCL 780.768a.

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of defendant's release on bail/other recognizance pending disposition of appeal (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 24 hours of receiving notification (or as soon as possible). Method. In writing, in plain English.	CVRA, MCL 780.768a.
Notification of result of appeal (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. Within 24 hours of receiving notification (or as soon as possible). Method. In writing, in plain English.	CVRA, MCL 780.768a.
Notification of defendant's probation revocation and sentenced to imprisonment for more than 90 days.	DOC or sheriff, as applicable.	Timing. None specified. Method. Presumably, in writing - notice must include "a form the victim may submit to the [DOC] or the sheriff to receive [certain] notices[.]"	CVRA, MCL 780.763a(2).
Notification of proposed placement of prisoner in Special Alternative Incarceration (SAI) Program (at victim's request).	DOC.	Timing. Not later than 30 days before the intended placement. Method. In writing, by mail. See MCL 780.769.	CVRA, MCL 780.763a(3).
Notification of defendant's status in court-ordered hospitalization or facility (at victim's request).	Director of hospital or facility where a defendant found not guilty by reason of insanity has been hospitalized or admitted by court order.	Timing. Promptly. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to the victim prompt actual notice."	CVRA, MCL 780.769a(1).
Notification of prisoner's calculated earliest release or parole eligibility date (at victim's request).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. Within 30 days of victim's written request. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(a).
Notification of prisoner's transfer to or from a secure facility or release/transfer to or from community status (at victim's request).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(b)- (c).

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of juvenile's transfer from secure juvenile facility to nonsecure juvenile (at victim's request).	DHHS or county juvenile agency.	Timing. Before transfer occurs (good faith effort) or as soon as possible after the transfer. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to give prompt actual notice.	CVRA, MCL 780.770a(1)(b); MCL 780.770a(2).
Notification of defendant's escape from custody.	If defendant escapes custody before being sentenced or detained by the DOC, hospital, or facility, prosecuting attorney. If defendant escapes custody after being sentenced and was confined, the chief administrator where defendant is confined. If defendant escapes custody after being sentenced and was ordered hospitalized or admitted to a facility, the director of hospital/facility where defendant is admitted.	Timing. Promptly if escape occurs after sentence is executed or after the defendant has been delivered to the DOC, hospital, or facility; within 24 hours if escape occurs before sentence is executed or before the defendant has been delivered to the DOC, hospital, or facility. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to give prompt actual notice."	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(d); MCL 780.770.
In automatic waiver proceedings, notification of juvenile's escape from custody (at victim's request).	DHHS or county juvenile agency.	Timing. Immediately. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to give prompt actual notice."	CVRA, MCL 780.770a(3).
Notification of parole review hearings and of victim's rights at hearing (at victim's request to receive notification of parole board decision).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. "Not less than 30 days before a review hearing." Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(f); MCL 780.771(2).
Notification of parole board decision – must also include notice of right to appeal decision (at victim's request).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. "[W]ithin a reasonable time after the board or panel reaches its decision but not later than 14 days after its decision." Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(f); MCL 780.771(3).

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of juvenile review hearings (at victim's request).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. None specified. Method. None specified.	CVRA, MCL 780.770b.
Notification of juvenile's dismissal from court jurisdiction or discharge from commitment to DHHS or county juvenile agency (at victim's request).	DHHS or county juvenile agency.	Timing. Before "juvenile is dismissed from court jurisdiction or discharged from commitment to the [DHHS] or county juvenile agency[,]" or as soon as possible after the juvenile's dismissal or discharge. Method. "[B]y any means reasonably calculated to give prompt actual notice."	CVRA, MCL 780.770a(1)(a); MCL 780.770a(2).
Notification of prisoner's conviction of new crime (at victim's request).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(/).
Notification of prisoner's discharge from prison (at victim's request).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. 90 days before prisoner's discharge date (unless notice has been provided otherwise under the CVRA). Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(g).
Notification of early termination of defendant's probation (at victim's request and if probation conditions include protection for victim).	Court.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.768b.
Notification of defendant's request for reprieve, commutation, or pardon and parole board's decision on request.	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(h)- (j); Department of Corrections Act, MCL 791.244(2)(g).
Notification of public hearing on defendant's request for reprieve, commutation, or pardon (at victim's request).	Parole board and sheriff or DOC.	Timing (Parole Board). "Not fewer than 30 days before conducting the public hearing[.]" Timing (Sheriff or DOC). None specified. Method (All). By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(i); Department of Corrections Act, MCL 791.244(2)(g).

Victim Notification Requirements	Persons Responsible for Notification	Timing and Method of Notification	Source/Authority
Notification of public hearing on governor's request for an expedited reprieve, commutation, or pardon based in part on a prisoner's medical condition (at victim's request).	Parole board and sheriff or DOC.	Timing (Parole Board). "Not fewer than 30 days before conducting the public hearing[.]" Timing (Sheriff or DOC). None specified. Method (All). By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(i); Department of Corrections Act, MCL 791.244a(2)(g).
Notification of prisoner's parole violation (at victim's request).	Sheriff DOC.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(m).
Notification of defendant's name change while on parole or within 2 years of parole release (at victim's request).	DOC notifies victim. However, to effectuate notice, the court must forward name change order to the DOC if defendant is currently in prison, on parole, or was on parole within the last two years.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(k); Probate Code, MCL 711.1(3)(a).
Notification of prisoner's or parolee's death (only applicable for parolees where DOC is aware of the death).	Sheriff or DOC.	Timing. None specified. Method. By mail.	CVRA, MCL 780.769(1)(n).
Notification of application to have conviction or adjudication set aside, if name of victim is known to prosecutor (notice must also include a copy of the application).	Prosecuting attorney.	Timing. None specified. Method. By first-class mail to victim's last known address.	CVRA, MCL 780.772a.