## **Landlord-Tenant or Land Contract Appeals Table**

This is an aid to track appeal events. Consult court rules and statutes as needed.

See the Michigan Judicial Institute's *Appeals & Opinions Benchbook*, Chapter 2.

This is an appeal of right when timely filed. MCR 4.201(O)(2). MCR 7.101–MCR 7.115 apply unless MCR 4.201 (landlord-tenant appeals) or MCR 4.202 (land contract appeals) provide otherwise. MCR 4.201(O)(1); MCR 4.202(L).

Case Number:	Lower Case Number:
Appellant:	Appellant's Attorney:
Appellee:	Appellee's Attorney:

Task	Applicable Court Rule	Due Date (if applicable)	Compliance?
Review date of judgment. Appeal must be filed within 10 days of entry of judgment.	MCR 4.201(0)(2) (landlord-tenant); MCR 4.202(L) (land contract)		
Appellant must file proof that service was made on all parties, trial court, and any other person entitled to notice. Within the time for appeal, appellant must order and pay for the trial court transcript (unless there is nothing to be transcribed).	MCR 7.104(D)(9); MCR 7.104(E)		
Appellee must file an appearance within 14 days of service.	MCR 7.104(F)		
Court reporter or recorder must furnish certificate of order and payment within 7 days after transcript is ordered.	MCR 7.109(B)(3)(a)		
Appellee must file appearance within 14 days of service. Appellee is not entitled to notice of further proceedings if an appearance is not filed.	MCR 7.104(F)		
Appellant must secure filing of the transcript. Transcript must be filed by court report or recorder within 56 days. The circuit court may extend or shorten time limits for filing transcript in a pending appeal on motion filed by the court reporter or recorder or a party.	MCR 7.109(B)(1)(a); MCR 7.109(B)(3)(b)(i)-( <i>ii</i> )		
Except for items omitted by written stipulation of the parties, record must be sent to circuit court by trial court within 14 days of filing of complete transcript or of request for certified copy of record.	MCR 7.109(G)(1)		

Michigan Judicial Institute Page 1

Task	Applicable Court Rule	Due Date (if applicable)	Compliance?
Circuit court must provide written notice to the parties immediately after the record is filed in circuit court.	MCR 7.109(G)(3)		
Appellant must file and serve its brief on all parties within 28 days after circuit court provides written notice that the record has been filed. The circuit court may extend time on motion, or time may be extended by 14 days on stipulation and order.	MCR 7.111(A)(1)(a)		
If appellant fails to pursue appeal in conformity with court rules, circuit court sends notice of intent to dismiss unless deficiency rectified within 14 days. If appeal is dismissed, the circuit court must immediately send a copy of the order to the parties and the trial court or agency. Appellant may move for reinstatement within 14 days of dismissal.	MCR 7.113(A); MCR 7.113(C)		
Appellee's brief is optional, but if submitted, must be filed and served on all parties within 21 days after appellant's brief was served. The circuit court may extend time on motion, or time may be extended by 14 days on stipulation and order.	MCR 7.111(A)(2)		
Appellant may file a reply brief within 14 days after appellee's brief was served.	MCR 7.111(A)(3)		
Determine whether either party properly requested oral argument and whether deliberation will be significantly aided by oral argument; if so, schedule. Oral argument is forfeited for failure to timely file a conforming brief unless the circuit court grants motion to reinstate oral argument.	MCR 7.111(A)(6); MCR 7.111(C); MCR 7.114(A)		
Circuit court must decide appeal by oral or written opinion and issue order.	MCR 7.114(B)		
Circuit court must promptly send original record, certified copy of order, and any written opinion to (1) the clerk of the Court of Appeals, if timely application for leave is filed, or (2) the trial court clerk, if no timely application for leave to appeal filed.	MCR 7.109(H)		

Page 2 Michigan Judicial Institute