INSTRUCTIONS

Form DC 90, Petition Regarding Impoundment of Motor Vehicle

1. To contest that this vehicle has been properly deemed abandoned or removed, or the reasonableness of the towing and daily storage fees, complete items 1 through 6 of the petition and request a hearing with the court. The petition, filing fee, and other applicable fees must be filed with the court within 20 days of the date of the notice that the vehicle was taken into custody. If known, include the name and address of the towing agency, vehicle custodian, police agency, and private property owner (if your car was removed from private property).

WARNING: Failure to redeem the vehicle or request a hearing within 20 days after the date of the notice may result in termination of all rights of the owner and the secured party to the vehicle.

- 2. Upon filing this petition, the court will:
 - a. Schedule a hearing the be held within 30 days for the purpose of determining whether the police agency, towing agency or custodian, or private property owner acted properly. You must bring proof of ownership of the vehicle to this hearing.
 - b. Notify the owner, towing agency or custodian, and police agency, or if the vehicle was removed from private property, notify the private property owner, of the time and place of the hearing. (MCL 257.252f[1].)
- 3. You may obtain release of an impounded vehicle before the hearing as long as you have either:
 - a. Posted with the court a towing and storage bond plus the accrued towing and storage fees, OR
 - b. Paid to the court a statutory fee and the towing and storage fees.

If the court finds that the vehicle was not properly deemed abandoned or removed, you will be reimbursed for the towing and storage fees according to law, and the abandoned vehicle fee will be returned.

- 4. Abandoned vehicle means either of the following:
 - a. A vehicle that has remained on private property without the consent of the owner.
 - b. A vehicle that has remained on public property for a period of not less than 48 hours as follows:
 - 1) A vehicle that has remained on a state trunk line highway for a period of not less than 18 hours if a valid registration plate is affixed to the vehicle.
 - 2) A vehicle that has remained on a state trunk line highway if a valid registration plate is not affixed to the vehicle. (MCL 257.252a[2])

Registered abandoned scrap vehicle means a vehicle that meets all of the following:

- a. Is on public or private property.
- b. Is 7 or more years old.
- c. Is apparently inoperable or is extensively damaged, to the extent that the cost of repair to make it operational and safe would exceed the fair market value of the vehicle.
- d. Is currently registered or titled in Michigan or displays current year registration plates from another state. (MCL 257.252b[1][a])

Unregistered abandoned scrap vehicle means a vehicle that meets all of the following:

- a. Is on public or private property.
- b. Is 7 or more years old.
- c. Is apparently inoperable or is extensively damaged, to the extent that the cost of repair to make it operational and safe would exceed the fair market value of the vehicle.
- d. Is not currently registered in Michigan and does not display current year registration plates from another state. (MCL 257.252b[1][b])