Sign In

​Testing and Certification

 

Only certified reporters and recorders may record or prepare transcripts of proceedings held in Michigan courts or of depositions taken in Michigan as regulated by Michigan Court Rule 8.108(G). Certification is accomplished through a testing process administered by the Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review through the assistance of the State Court Administrative Office. The Board determines the passing score. 


Beginning June 1, 2020, applicants for the CER examination must provide documentation that they have passed a typing test at a minimum of 60 words per minute from an accredited testing center and have completed a full academic course in grammar and punctuation from an accredited educational institution or, in lieu of a course,  possess a minimum of an associate's degree.​
 

Eligibility for Certification

To be eligible to apply for certification, applicants must be at least 18 years of age, have graduated from high school, and not have been under sentence for a felony for a period of two years.  There are additional requirements depending upon the type of certification desired.  


​Certified Electronic Operator (CEO)

 ​A certified electronic operator (CEO) is certified to record court proceedings using digital and analog recording equipment.  A CEO is not authorized to prepare and certify transcripts.  Only court employees are authorized to receive the CEO certification.  Applicants for the CEO certification must submit an application for certification along with the following documentation:

  1. ​​Proof of satisfactory completion of an approved course of study within 18 months of the examination.  There are currently two approved courses of study for CEO exam eligibility:
  2. Proof they passed the CEO certification examination. Register for the CEO examination.
  3. Written authorization from the chief judge of the court.

NOTE:  If an employer is requesting a temporary certification, the applicant must be registered for the next- available examination.

To register for an examination, click on the links below.
March 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 18, 2020 (Howell) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
June 8, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
June 10, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
June 12, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
​August 12, 2020 (Gaylord) Registration Deadline: Wednesday, July 15, 2020
November 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020​
November 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
November 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020


​Certified Electronic Recorder (CER)

A certified electronic recorder (CER) is certified to record depositions and court proceedings using digital and analog recording equipment.  A CER is also authorized to prepare and certify transcripts of depositions and court proceedings. ​Applicants for the CER certification must submit an application for certification along with the following documentation:

  1. Proof of satisfactory completion of an approved course of study within 18 months of the examination.  There are currently two approved courses of study for CER exam eligibility:
  2. Proof they passed the CER certification examination. Register for the CER examination.

NOTE:  
 If an employer is requesting a temporary certification, the applicant must be registered for the next- available examination.

To register for an examination, click on the links below.
March 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
March 18, 2020 (Howell) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
June 8, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
June 10, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
June 12, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
August 12, 2020 (Gaylord) Registration Deadline: Wednesday, July 15, 2020
November 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
November 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
November 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
 

​Certified Stenographic Reporter (CSR)

​A certified stenographic reporter (CSR) is certified to record depositions and court proceedings using a stenographic machine.  A CSR is also authorized to prepare and certify transcripts of depositions and court proceedings.  Applicants for CSR certification must submit an application for certification ​​along with the following documentation:

  1. Proof of satisfactory completion of an approved, accredited, or recognized course of study in court reporting.
  2. Verification by the National Court Reporter’s Association (NCRA) that they passed the registered professional reporter (RPR) skills examination. Information about the RPR skills examination can be found on NCRA’s website. Download a copy of the NCRA exam passage verification form (scao11c.pdf​)​​.
  3. Proof they passed the Michigan CSR written examination.  Register for the CSR written examination​.

NOTE: 
 If an employer is requesting a temporary certification, the applicant must be registered for the next- available examination.

To register for an examination, click on the links below.
    March 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 18, 2020 (Howell) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    June 8, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    June 10, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    June 12, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    November 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
    November 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
    November 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
     

​Certified Stenomask Reporter (CSMR)

A certified stenomask reporter (CSMR) is certified to record depositions and court proceedings using a stenomask​ recorder.  A CSMR is also authorized to prepare and certify​ transcripts of depositions and court proceedings. Applicants for CSMR certification must submit an application for certification ​​along with  the following documentation:

  1. Proof of satisfactory completion of an approved, accredited, or recognized course of study in court reporting.  Approved educational programs may be found on the National Verbatim Reporters Association (NVRA) website.
  2. Verification by the NVRA that they passed the certified verbatim reporter (CVR) skills examination. Information on the CVR skills examination may be found on NVRA's website.  Download a copy of the NVRA exam verification form (scao11d.pdf).
  3. Proof they passed the Michigan CSMR written examination.  Register for the CSMR written examination​.

NOTE:  
 If an employer is requesting a temporary certification, the applicant must be registered for the next- available examination.

To register for an examination, click on the links below.​
    March 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    March 18, 2020 (Howell) Registration Deadline: Monday, February 17, 2020
    June 8, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    ​​June 10, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    June 12, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, May 11, 2020
    ​​November 9, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
    November 11, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
    ​​November 13, 2020 (Lansing) Registration Deadline: Monday, October 12, 2020
     
​​​​
​​

staff Contact

Denice Purves

(517) 373-9526

CtRec-Info@courts.mi.gov

 

SCAO Staff Directory

 

update to manual

The manual was last revised in August, 2019. A list of the changes made is found below:

 

Manual changes.​​​​​​​​

​​