Navigate Up
Sign In

​Child Welfare Awards  

The Foster Care Review Board (FCRB) provides a forum for recognition of the excellent work that is performed by child welfare professionals who work diligently to overcome systemic barriers and go above and beyond policy, court rule, and statutory standards to help ensure the safety, well being, and timely permanency for children and families served by our foster care system.

The awards are presented to those on the “front lines” who have displayed a commitment to excellence and integrity in serving the needs of our states most vulnerable children and families. One nominee from each of the following categories – jurist (judge or referee), foster care caseworker, lawyer-guardian ad litem (LGAL), foster parent(s), and parent attorney – will be recognized for their exemplary service to abused or neglected children in the Michigan foster care system. All other nominees will receive a congratulatory letter from the Foster Care Review Board, informing them of their nomination and thanking them for their service.

Finalists are chosen by a panel of Foster Care Review Board members and award winners are chosen by a panel of child welfare professionals and advocates, including award winners from the past year. Award recipients are recognized at a FCRB training conference.

Nominations for the 2018 Child Welfare Awards will be accepted from April 2 through August 10.  Descriptions, criteria, and nomination forms are available at the links below:

For further information or assistance, please contact Kathy Lohr, Foster Care Review Board Administrative Assistant, at or 313-972-3288.​


For details on each winner, please click on the year of interest.  

2016 Winners​

Troy Miller
    Foster Care Worker of the Year
William Ladd
    Lawyer-Guardian Ad Litem of the Year
Nancy Dean
    Parent Attorney of the Year
Hon. Robert S. Sykes, Jr.
    Jurist of the Year
Glenn and Kim Wing
    Foster Parents of the Year

2015 Winners​


2014 Winners 




2012 Winners


2011 winners