Sign In

​Select a format:


HTML - best for viewing online, on a mobile device, or copying and pasting


PDF - best for printing the rules by chapter or entire book


We are pleased to provide electronic copies of civil jury instructions adopted by the Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions. MCR 2.512. The Committee is composed of attorneys and judges whose duty is to ensure that the Model Civil Jury Instructions are concise, understandable, conversational, unslanted, and not argumentative. The Committee has authority to amend or repeal existing instructions and, when appropriate, adopt new instructions, although the instructions do not have the force and effect of a court rule.  The Committee is comprised of the following members:


​Robert L. Avers

Hon. Mark T. Boonstra (Chair)

Benjamin J. Aloia
Hon. Jane M. Beckering

Mark R. Bendure

W. Mack Faison

Hon. Kathleen A. Feeney

Gary N. Felty, Jr.

William B. Forrest, III

Donald J. Gasiorek

James F. Hewson

C. Thomas Ludden

Daniel J. McCarthy

Hon. Elizabeth M Pezzetti

Daniel J. Schulte

Hon. Douglas B. Shapiro

Hon. Michael R. Smith

Hon. Donald A. Teeple

Thomas Van Dusen

Hon. Michael D. Warren

Thomas W. Waun



​Michigan Supreme Court Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions

Michigan Hall of Justice

PO Box 30052

Lansing, MI 48909

Phone: (517) 373-4641


Timothy J. Raubinger, Committee Reporter


To comment on existing instructions or instructions published for comment, or to suggest amendments or new instructions, please contact the committee reporter listed above.